Contact Us

Deana Pape

Director, St. Louis Office

You might say that project management is in Deana’s blood—her father, with a career in the U.S. Air Force and aerospace, has a PhD in systems engineering and worked on major programs for the defense industry, including early satellite technology. After a brief career in physical therapy (she has a BS in biology and an MBA from University of Missouri), Deana got a hands-on introduction to project management by running a lab at the Genome Sequencing Center at Washington University. Since joining IPM in 2005, she has specialized in helping pharma and med device clients get their products from concept to launch. Outside of work, she’s passionate about her family, St. Louis Cardinals baseball, and trying new “science experiments” from her extensive cookbook collection.

What are you passionate about—in work or in life?

Because of my background and training in physical therapy, I still have an inclination for patient care and helping people. I had athletic training certification and worked as a high school trainer for a while, and taught Applied Behavior Analysis to children with autism in the 1990s. I also volunteer with and donate to Big Brothers Big Sisters, and have had five “littles” over last 20 years.

Since joining IPM, what have you found to be the best thing about working here?

The team of people I work with is constantly pushing me to learn new things, try new approaches, and be creative; there is no resting on your laurels. You have to work hard and pitch in. The people I work with inspire me to work harder all the time.

How has your previous work or life experience prepared you for working at IPM?

Being a military brat—moving around a lot and having to adjust to new situations, discover who the stakeholders are, and making the best of every situation—that helped. My mom raised me to make the best of every situation, and that life experience certainly translates into being a consultant, where you’re constantly with new clients, accounts, and objectives. Being raised with a good heart and knowing that circumstances may change but people and their success matter—that’s what gets projects done.

Please tell us about your family.

I’m the oldest of four, two sisters and a brother, an 11-year-old niece and a 7-year-old nephew. The kids provide endless joy and levity to the group.

What are your favorite hobbies?

I love the St. Louis Cardinals! My sister and I share a season ticket package, and we go to a game every week or two. I also love collegiate sports and go back to Mizzou for football games during the season. Another thing I enjoy is making my own stationery using drawing, painting, stamp and ink. Finally, what I really love to do is cook! It’s like a science experiment every time. I read recipe books with more diligence than anything else, but I’m not very good at following a recipe in my kitchen, so I wing it and see if I can create a new favorite. I have a huge cookbook and spice collection.